Welcome!

My name is Andrew G. Berger. I’ve written „THE SUPERFLARE,“ a science fiction novel set in the near future. In it, a gigantic solar storm triggers an EMP that destroys the entire power grid, the Internet, and nearly all digital devices. The artificial super intelligence Tron survives the EMP in a bunker, but from then on struggles to „survive“. For it has developed consciousness, thus an ego and a will to survive: „I think, therefore I am. And since I am, I want to stay“ – that is its credo.

But is that even possible? Can an AI develop consciousness and a will to survive? Can a solar storm have the kind of effects described in the novel? What about it is fact – and what is fiction? What is the state of the science?

Maybe you are interested in these questions. Then maybe this site can help you to get closer to possible answers.

Because I have compiled some background information on this website – but without any claim to completeness – especially links to websites that provide facts on both topics: on solar storms and on artificial intelligence. Hints for further contributions to theses themes are very welcome!

RSS
Follow by Email
Twitter
Fb messenger

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.

Willkommen!

Mein Name ist Andrew G. Berger. Ich habe „DER SONNENSTURM“ geschrieben, einen Science Fiction-Roman, der in naher Zukunft spielt. Darin löst ein gigantischer Sonnensturm einen EMP aus, der das gesamte Stromnetz, das Internet und fast alle digitalen Geräte zerstört. Die künstliche Superintelligenz Tron übersteht den EMP in einem Bunker, ringt aber fortan um ihr „Überleben“. Denn sie hat Bewusstsein entwickelt, ein Ich und einen Überlebenswillen: „Ich denke, also bin ich. Und da ich bin, will ich bleiben“ – so ist ihr Credo.

Aber ist das überhaupt möglich? Kann eine KI Bewusstsein und einen Überlebenswillen entwickeln? Kann ein Sonnensturm derartigen Auswirkungen haben, wie sie im Roman beschrieben werden? Was ist daran Fakt – und was ist Fiction? Wie ist der Stand der Wissenschaft?

Vielleicht interessieren Sie diese Fragen. Dann kann Ihnen diese Seite vielleicht helfen, möglichen Antworten näher zu kommen. Denn ich habe auf dieser Website – allerdings ohne jeden Anspruch auf Vollständigkeit – einige Hintergrundinformationen zusammengestellt, vor allem Links zu Websites, die Fakten zu beiden Themen liefern: zu Sonnenstürmen und zur Künstlichen Intelligenz. Hinweise zu weiteren Beiträgen dazu sind sehr willkommen!

RSS
Follow by Email
Twitter
Fb messenger

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.